top of page

Advices on how to survive poly

Surviving Poly, what we learnt


Hi guys! Today we will be sharing with you our journey in poly which btw, is where we met. Proves that the friendships you make are long lasting teehee. I would say poly was a wholesome experience that holds a special place in my heart. Thus, I wanna make sure it's the same for you guys. Here are some advice that might be useful to you, no matter where you’re studying.


Start off Right

I think the number 1 advice I will give y’all is to start off right in sem 1.1. It is the best time to secure that high GPA. Do the basics - pay attention, ask questions and participate actively. In fact, study the lesson materials beforehand to ensure you won't be a lost hooman in class. Don’t wait until it’s nearing your exams or submissions to start clearing your doubts. You will start panicking and it is definitely not helpful at all. You may be tempted to sit at the back and play games but honestly, don't. Been there, done that.


Expectation of Grades

If you’re going to poly straight from secondary school, I’m sure it’s hard to understand how the GPA system works. Basically the GPA is out of 4 and if you're planning on getting into a local uni, GPA might become a concern for you. Also in your Freshman Orientation, there might be some seniors scaring you that if you eff-ed up your year 1 GPA, it’s almost impossible to bring it back up. However, that is so not true! Don’t let what others tell you affect your mindset. You do you, set your own goals, work for it, get it. At the end of the day, GPA is just a number, it does not dictate where you end up at.


Academic Competitions

Trust me, industry exposure is much more important. Especially if you're unsure of what you would like to pursue. It may sound boring but hear me out. One of our best memories and best advice is to join competitions. We’ve learnt the most from competitions which are also really useful when you graduate, be it finding a job or for an aptitude based admission in university. It'll help you stand out from others as it shows that you have real experiences apart from school projects.


Sabrina: I think it's safe to say I participated in the majority of the entrepreneurship competitions. No regrets tho. I learnt the job scope of various departments such as public relations, finance and marketing. There were even mentors from ExxonMobile and Barclays and we worked with organizations such as Singapore Discovery Centre, Ain Society and Straits Times Pocket Money Fund. It's not just the academic experience though, I will always remember the days we stayed in school till 11+pm practicing for our presentation. Truly worth the time and stress.



Eileen: I personally joined various entrepreneurship competitions even though it has no relation to my course. To me, competitions are a more unique way of learning. Despite having no prior knowledge or backgrounds, I learnt on the go during the span of the competitions. From starting a company, to developing a product, pitching to real life companies, learning video production, marketing experiences, to be honest, the list is endless. But my point is I was able to get hands on experience outside of my course and most importantly, network and build my confidence.


Work hard, play hard

Join camps! It will make your poly life much more memorable. Good thing is, camps are usually during the holidays. Therefore, it will not be a distraction from your studies. You will meet various types of people during camps. You will even make friends that you will be mugging with for the rest of your poly life. Even if you’re an introvert, don’t be afraid to participate. There’s no reason to be embarrassed and I assure u, your camp facilitators all no face so ain’t nobody judging. There are actually never ending events to participate with your friends like international friendship day and community events.


Have some “me” time by taking part in a CCA you’re interested in. It’s A great way to destress. If you’re afraid of commitment, I recommend being a part of a school club. This way, you can also get that required seal points.


As a whole, poly is a whole new adventure. It’s not all about your studies. It’s truly enjoying the journey and forging friendships that will last a lifetime.


Signing out, TP IIT FBI graduates ~



Recent Posts

See All

colordippin

bottom of page